KIKIMIYE

“Alien comes to earth and teaches humanity to human beings.”

My friend narrated the story of Rajkumar Hirani’s another super-hit bollywood movie, PK.

I paid less heed to him as I was thinking about something to write. Something which has been pondering in my mind for quite a long time now. I felt like I found the answer. I felt like I realized and I have discovered the answer to the most common question,

“What is love?”

Wait! I’m not going to talk about love stories or fairy tales here. So, don’t just scroll away saying it’s the same bullshit. Believe me! I’ve had enough theories learned and heard about love too. More or less, this is also one of them but more realistic (for me).

I always thought love was something where there is a mutual understanding. I thought that it can be created and can also be transferred. Of course, you can teach someone to be kind and good but you can’t teach them to love. Love comes naturally.

“I fell in love the way you fall
asleep. Slowly, and then all at
once.”

This quotation from the book, The Fault In Our Stars by John Green, was one of the favourite quote of my good friend but I stole it from her and made it my favourite.

You can never select whom to love and you will not realise that you are falling in love. You may assume that you will fall in love but you can’t predict when.

I have been a fool quite a while searching for my eternal love which gives me the uh-la-la feeling. I selected whom to love and how to. That was, indeed, very stupid and immature, I know. But the “love-at-first-sight” theory made me to think that people can fall in love whenever they want and wherever they want. Bull shit!

I don’t have any definition of love with me and I cannot even express. Love comes softly. Yes, it does. You can’t just rush in and grab a girl to love because Valentine’s Day is around!

Have I been using the word “love” too much?
Maybe. I’ll just replace it with “Kikimiye” as you read further. It’s a translation of Love in Sümi dialect.

Kikimiye has many languages. Like I changed the complete spelling but the meaning remains same.

Kikimiye can happen twice, like Ravinder Singh has said in his book. It can happen many times but we choose not to. We choose to keep our heart closed. People have this misconception that kikimiye happens only once and the rest are kikimiye made in China. If you open your heart and let someone in, kikimiye will discover you.

Being kind, gentle, caring, understanding, trust etc can be created but not kikimiye. They are just the tools. Like bricks, cement and aggregates are used to build a house but they are not house themselves. A right proportion of all the tools make a house. House is not kikimiye either. Home is kikimiye. Home is when people live. Kikimiye is when someone shares it and live in it.

As I was saying, I selected whom to kikimiye. I was never successfull, as you might have already guessed. Kikimiye never occurred or evolved because I cannot just create it. If you do something she likes and you win her heart and she falls in love with you, that would be ‘hypnotize’. Everytime you have a romantic chat with her and she tells you,

“You loved me endlessly and now I’m in love with you”

will sound like,

“You hypnotized me endlessly and now I’m hypnotized by you”.

That may also be kikimiye but China made. Oh! And I am aware that as I publish this write-up, I will face loads of criticism because kikimiye has many languages and not everyone understands my language. So, I don’t really care what people thinks about me.

Ok! So, you don’t fall in kikimiye but kikimiye discovers you and it grows like a tree. You will have to do a little bit of sacrifice and make some commitment when kikimiye discovers you because they are the fuel to kikimiye as water is to trees.

You will not realize this if kikimiye has not discovered you for a long time. I have also closed my heart for very long time waiting for my kikimiye to come back. Remember, I’m not asking you to sit down there and wait for your Prince Charming or Knight in shining armour, believe me, they are stuck in a tree. You have to open your heart and live life as kikimiye will discover you only when you are living life.

I’m not sure how far you will agree with me on this. I also apologize for the starting line about aliens!! That was just to grab your attention. Also, I apologize for mentioning that I have discovered the answer to the question, “What is love?”. That was also to grab your attention and keep you thrilled while you read further but I think I have satisfied myself with what I wrote above.

“For when words are not enough, music talks. Yet it is also written.”

Leave a comment